What Happens to My License?

One of the most common questions I’m asked by someone facing a DUI is what will happen to their driver’s license. Surprisingly, the answer is pretty direct and simple. What will happen to the driver’s license depends entirely on what happens to the DUI charge.

Of course, it’s always the goal to beat, or get out of a DUI charge. While that’s the best-case outcome, the fact is that most DUI cases are not simply thrown out of court. Obviously, if we can find a way to get your charge knocked out somehow, then nothing will happen to your license. If your DUI charge doesn’t just "go away," however, then you’ll have to get ready for some changes in the way you get around.

First, you need to bear in mind that the DUI charge you face may very well not be the charge you wind up with on your record, especially in 1st Offense cases, where the right defense attorney can often negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor.

Understanding a DUI, OWI, UBAC, UBAL charge

It is also important to understand the language of Michigan drunk driving law. In Michigan, there is no charge called “DUI.” While that's generally understood to be short for “driving under the influence,” there is no legal term in Michigan law. Instead, the technical term for drunk driving in Michigan is “operating while intoxicated,” or OWI. You’ll notice that’s what it says on your ticket, or court papers. Sometimes, a ticket may read, “combined OWI/UBAC” or “combined “OWI/UBAL,” but they are the same thing. In Michigan, a DUI is really an OWI.

Difference Between Suspension and Revocation of a Driver's License

In DUI cases, there are only 2 kinds of license actions, or “sanctions,” that can occur: A suspension, or a revocation. If your license is suspended, it is taken away for a specific period of time (rather like being suspended from school for 3 days, or a week) and then returned thereafter. A person can be given a restricted license during all or part of a suspension. Suspensions only occur in 1st offense cases; they cannot occur in 2nd or 3rd offense cases

If your license is revoked, it is taken away for good. To continue the school analogy, a revocation is the same thing as an expulsion, or being expelled. A student expelled from school cannot just come back; he or she has to reapply and a formal decision has to be made to allow him or her to return, or not. There is no restricted license allowed if a person’s license is revoked because there is no license to restrict. Revocations are the only option in 2nd and 3rd offense cases, meaning there is no way to keep any kind of driving privileges, restricted or otherwise.

With this in mind, we can be boil things down even further: If you are convicted of a 2nd or 3rd offense DUI, your license will be revoked, as in gone for good. There isn’t anything else to really talk about in such cases except how to get around until the revocation period is over, and you can apply for a restoration of your license which is call a license appeal through the Administrative Hearing Section (AHS).

If you are facing your 1st offense DUI, then what will happen to your license depends on which of the following charges you wind up (as opposed to are initially charged) with:

High BAC or OWI Enhanced (different ways of saying the same thing - 1st Offense with a BAC of .17 or higher):

License suspended for 1 year – no driving for the first 45 days, then a restricted license for the next 10 and ½ months (320 days) but must use an ignition interlock (a/k/a “blow unit”).

OWI 1st Offense:

License suspended for 6 months - no driving for the first 30 days, then a restricted license for the next 5 months (150 days). No interlock.

OWVI (“Impaired Driving”):

License suspended for 90 days – restricted license from the very first day. This means a person never completely loses the ability to drive. No interlock.

Most of the time, high BAC and OWI charges are negotiated down to this lesser charge of impaired driving (OWVI), saving a person’s ability to at least drive to work and school.

What Happens to a CDL After an Alcohol Conviction

There are a few other things that are worth knowing. If you hold a CDL and are convicted of (or plead Guilty to) any alcohol-related charge, including a 1st offense impaired driving, your CDL will be completely suspended for 1 year. There is no appeal, and it does not matter if you drive for a living.

“Restricted,” in terms of a driver’s license, is very clearly defined: It means a person can drive to, from, and during the course of work, to and from school, to and from necessary medical treatment, to and from support groups (such as AA) and to and from anything the court orders you to do. That’s it. If something isn’t covered by one of these allowances, then it’s not allowed. And to clarify a question likely already on your lips, yes, this does mean that you cannot take the kids to school and you cannot go grocery shopping or pick up the dry cleaning.

While the circumstances in which they arise are often difficult, and the questions about them are frequently complex, the driver’s license sanctions in any DUI case are, in the final analysis, rather simple, if not a bit difficult to live with.

Client Reviews
Five stars hands down!! Jeff and his legal team represented me in a seemingly impossible situation. I had many obstacles to overcome, in the end I walked out with with my driving privileges reinstated. Jeff and his team were very helpful Peter
Thank you for your knowledge and help in winning restoration of my driving privileges. I tried before on my own, lost (of course) and am glad I found your site. Katie
Just wanted to thank you for winning my license appeal. I was so happy when I got the letter in the mail that said I had won. I thank you so much for all your help and would be so happy to give your name to anyone who needs to get their license back. Mike
I wanted to thank you for taking my case. I would tell anybody trying to get their License back they need to talk to you. I should have done this a long time ago. Doug